A Letter from Jeff

 

imageMy name is Jeffrey Dacey and I am currently a client at the Veterans Transition House. Before I tell you about my experience here, let me give you a brief summary of my background. I am 28 years old and I grew up in the suburbs of Boston. I had a great, loving childhood, with two caring parents and one younger sister. I began drinking and using at the age of 14, mainly to fit in and feel a part of something. At 19 years old I joined the U.S. Army, thinking that doing so would solve my problems. I received an Other Than Honorable discharge on behalf of misconduct (drug & alcohol abuse). I was discharged prior to my 21st birthday.From there my disease rapidly progressed and escalated into intravenous drug use. I have been to many detox’s and 30 day programs, along with four halfway houses.

I entered the Veterans Transition House on January 2nd, 2014. I came into the program with two warrants. One for failing to appear in court for a drug possession with an attempt to distribute and another outstanding warrant for driving with a suspended license. I was very fortunate to enter this program with these warrants because most places do not allow it. Upon entering this program I was very motivated and willing to stay in recovery. I started taking immediate action, starting with clearing up my warrants. Then I started taking full advantage of what this program has to offer.

I was welcomed by a great Staff that made me feel safe and comfortable.

I was very pleased with the schedule here; it keeps me busy and focused. I find the groups that are held during the day here are informative and interesting. Unlike other program groups that are boring and repetitive, these are always different. The Staff always comes prepared, with a positive attitude, and with a respect for every individual in the group.

wpid-wp-1405641801131.jpeg

Jeff volunteering with Operation Clean Sweep

Another aspect of this program that I felt is extremely helpful to me is the diversity of outside self-help groups (AA & NA) that the VTH vans drive to daily. It was imperative for me to start building a network and without the help of transportation from the VTH this would’ve been nearly impossible. Involvement with the community is another part of this program that I am very happy to be involved with.

The VTH also provides me with transportation to outside appointments. Getting to and from outside appointments is vital for my physical and mental recovery.

All in all the VTH Staff has helped me recognize and accept my disease of addiction. In the short time that I have been here, I have accomplished so much. I feel that there is still a lot that this program can offer me and I plan on taking advantage of all the resources available to me.

 

 

Sincerely,

Jeff D's signature.jpg

Jeffrey Dacey

Resident of the VTH

2 thoughts on “A Letter from Jeff

  1. Excellent work ! You must be so proud of yourself ! I am proud of you and I don’t even know you .
    Godspeed !

Leave a Reply

